Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

What makes a dominant?

Dominance is a lifestyle choice. Some people attribute it to personality traits, biological drive, a deep psychological reaction to emotional or physical pain… the list goes on. Clichéd I know.

Dominance is a choice you make for yourself based on your personal tastes. In the context of BDSM, Dominance takes the form of control over another person, generally in a sexual context, but most often D/s couples practice Dominance both physically and emotionally.

I have read a lot of information on Dominance, I think it is important to educate yourself about your lifestyle choice before you claim to live it. My question is whether or not, like some websites and articles I have read suggests, Dominance is a biological predisposition?

I find a couple of holes in this theory:

  1. As a woman, and a Domme, how does my dominance assure biological success?
  2. IF dominance is a biological predisposition, does that mean that male submission is biologically disadvantageous?
  3. Doesn’t this biological predisposition theory sound like a convenient excuse for men to be “natural Dom’s”?

*Not that I chide male dominance at all, but being male does not mean that you are a dominant, just that you are male.*

What are your thoughts on this? I would love to hear from anyone whether in the lifestyle or not, just curious about the thoughts circulating out there.

